School of Earth Exploration and Discovery Harlem (
425 West 130 Street
District 05 · NYC Public Schools · Middle school · Grades 6–8 (2025–2026)
Open in the interactive explorer: map, comparisons and a printable school record (PDF) →
Enrollment
54 students in school year 2025–2026. No comparable 2018–2019 value.
School reorganization: Opened in 2020–2021 with grades 6 moved from P.S. 129 John H. Finley (05M129); earlier enrollment appears under that school. Panel for Educational Policy vote: Feb 27, 2019.
| School year | Students |
|---|---|
| 2018–2019 | No data |
| 2019–2020 | No data |
| 2020–2021 | 78 |
| 2021–2022 | 131 |
| 2022–2023 | 125 |
| 2023–2024 | 95 |
| 2024–2025 | 73 |
| 2025–2026 | 54 |
Spending per student
Latest reported, school year 2024–2025: $76,886 per student (state & local $72,530 · federal $4,356).
Same-year medians: District 05 $42,840 · citywide $33,315
| School year | Total | Federal | State & local | Students (state count) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2018–2019 | Not reported | |||
| 2019–2020 | Not reported | |||
| 2020–2021 | $23,336 | $2,139 | $21,197 | 78 |
| 2021–2022 | $26,440 | $5,418 | $21,023 | 138 |
| 2022–2023 | $33,895 | $6,750 | $27,145 | 127 |
| From 2023–2024, figures include a share of citywide costs, such as central offices. Not comparable with earlier years. | ||||
| 2023–2024 | $60,448 | $22,675 | $37,774 | 93 |
| 2024–2025 | $76,886 | $4,356 | $72,530 | 70 |
Other schools in District 05, Manhattan
- Columbia Secondary School
- Eagle Academy for Young Men of Harlem
- Frederick Douglass Academy
- Harlem Renaissance High School
- High School for Mathematics, Science and Engineeri
- Mott Hall High School
- New Design Middle School
- P.S. 030 Hernandez/Hughes
- P.S. 036 Margaret Douglas
- P.S. 046 Arthur Tappan
- P.S. 092 Mary McLeod Bethune
- P.S. 123 Mahalia Jackson
- P.S. 125 Ralph Bunche
- P.S. 129 John H. Finley
- P.S. 133 Fred R Moore
- P.S. 154 Harriet Tubman
- P.S. 161 Pedro Albizu Campos
- P.S. 175 Henry H Garnet
- P.S. 194 Countee Cullen
- P.S. 197 John B. Russwurm
- P.S. 200- The James McCune Smith School
- Teachers College Community School
- The Urban Assembly School for Global Commerce
- Thurgood Marshall Academy for Learning and Social
- Thurgood Marshall Academy Lower School
- Urban Assembly Academy for Future Leaders
- Urban Assembly School for the Performing Arts
NYC public schools, by the numbers: staff, pay, budget and English learners →
Sources: New York City Public Schools enrollment data and spending per student reported by the New York State Education Department. Missing years are not zero. Enrollment and spending are not school-quality ratings. How we check the data